Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Chairman Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Margaret Bluestein Michael Hitchcock Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

January 18, 2019

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Doyet A. (Jack) Early III, Judge of the Circuit Court, Second Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before February 28, 2019. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2022.

Normally, the policy of the Judicial Merit Selection Commission is to hold only one screening per legislative session. However, the retirement of Judge Early in February of 2019 will leave vacant the only resident judge seat in the Second Judicial Circuit for an entire year before the next scheduled election. Due to these exceptional circumstances, the Judicial Merit Selection Commission is announcing this vacancy now and accepting applications for this judicial office.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov (803) 212-6689

or

Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant at (803) 212-6623 or LindiPutnam@scsenate.gov.

The Commission will not accept applications after 12:00 noon on Tuesday, February 19, 2019.

For further information about the Judicial Merit Selection Commission and the judicial screening process, you may access the Commission website at http://www.scstatehouse.gov/JudicialMeritPage/JMSCMainPage.php.